Life Gets in the Way

Sorry for the delay in posting.  I’ve been enacting the role of homeowner over the past week, rather than author.  We’re making some necessary renovations to the house, everything from decluttering to powerwashing to laying new floors in the kitchen and three bathrooms.  I have to say, it’s a hell of a lot of work (and God bless her, Dana’s doing most of it–by choice, lest you think I’m both useless and lazy).  It’s also worth it.  We’ve been in this house for twelve years now, and it was new when we moved in.  Time and entropy have a way of stealing the newness.

But I’m pleased to report that renovation and order have a way of restoring it.  And good thing, too.  The way things were, we were getting tired of the look of it.  We certainly don’t want to move out, so an enthusiastic refurb is a good and happy exercise.

It did cost me the opportunity to go to Fandomfest in Louisville last weekend, where I hoped to get a photo with my identical twin, Saul Rubinek.  If you don’t believe me, Google both our pictures.  It’s kind of scary.  But we had too much to do, and I couldn’t go.  I pouted–a little–and only briefly, but then I got over it.

We’re finally seeing light at the end of the tunnel, finishing up the last projects in the next few days.  By the weekend, our lives should be our own again, and I can continue with regular postings and webisodes.  I’ve got a good webisode series in mind, which I’ll begin as soon as the first series is complete.

So thank you for your patience, those of you who may be reading this.  I actually got a glimmer of hope this morning for the series coming to television.  A very patient and enthusiastic agent has got a certain cable network interested.  Can’t say more yet, and can’t get my hopes up, but every glimmer adds light to the day.  Here’s hoping.

Leave a Reply

